

Over 10,000 islands make up Oceania. Some islands are independent nations and others are territories of other nations. The islands are divided into 3 sections based on culture and physical location. The regions are called Micronesia, Melanesia, and Polynesia. Complete the following to the above map.

- 1. Find the International Dateline and the Equator on the map and highlight them a bright color.
- 2. Shade all the island groups in Micronesia the same color and label the island groups by name. Federated States of Micronesia, Palau, Guam, the Marshall Islands
- 3. Shade all the island groups in Micronesia the same color and label the island groups by name. New Guinea, Solomon Islands, Vanuatu, Fiji, Tonga, and Samoa
- 4. Shade all the island groups in Polynesia the same and label the island groups by name. French Polynesia, Kiribati, Niue, the Hawaiian Islands, and the Cook Islands.
- 5. Draw lines representing the Tropic of Cancer and the Tropic of Capricorn. Label the lines by name.
- 6. Even though they are not part of Oceania label the countries of Australia and New Zealand on the map above.